Always On My Mind…

The country Legend Willie Nelson is at it again. The singer released his newest studio album on October 15th and it is amazing! The album is a duet album and features 18 beautifully recorded songs, with such a variety of new and old artist this album offers country fans of all ages and everywhere to fall in love with an old legend with a new style. Of all the songs featured on this album there is one in particular I would like to address.

719eADg5foL._SL1500_On his newest studio album, Willie Nelson teams up with the most prominent of country women to bring you, “To All the Girls…” This album features duets with artist from Loretta Lynn to Dolly Parton, from Miranda Lambert to Carrie Underwood. There is even a song with Willie’s daughter Paula Nelson.

Of the eighteen tracks on the album I was most excited for “Always on My Mind.” I’m not a big fan of Willie Nelson, nor had I heard this song previously, but I do love me some Carrie Underwood and I think this song is beautifully done!

The song has a very nice, soft and sweet medley that includes instruments like a piano, harmonica, banjo and I hear a guitar of course. Along side the instruments the vocals from Ms. Carrie Underwood are flawless, as always. She brings with her the belts, high notes and effortless beauty and tone that we fell in love with back in her idol days.

Carrie-and-WillieNow me personally, I don’t like Willie Nelson as a vocalist. He didn’t do anything special, out there, or interesting enough for me to compliment him as a vocalist on this song, but he is a legend, I respect him for who he is and what he has done in country music, and this album is no different.

The songs lyrics are beautiful and sweet. The song tells a story about a man (or woman) that is admitting his (or her) wrong that they did in the relationships. They confront their wrongs and then beg for another chance with them.

Originally recorded by singer Brenda Lee, the beautiful love song starts off with the line;

Carrie-Underwood-Willie-Nelson“Maybe I didn’t love you, quite as much as I could have.”

followed by a simple chorus that simply states;

“You’re always on my mind. You were always on my mind.”

My favorite part of this entire song, of course, is Carrie Underwood’s part. With lyrics such as;

“Little things I should have said and done. I just never took the time. But you were always on my mind.”

The album also features a beautiful rendition of “From Here to the Moon and Back” featuring fellow country legend Dolly Parton, and a another song entitled “She’s No Good for Me” featuring the ever so lovely Miranda Lambert. You should definitely give these songs a listen. They will make your day!

One thought on “Always On My Mind…

Leave a Reply

