Martina McBride Takes On Classic Soul

The power house voice that brought us such hits as; “Independence Day” and “Broken Wing” is now giving us a new twist on some old time favorites. Watch as this country icon takes on the classic soul from the late 60’s and early 70’s.

41st annual Country Music Association Awards in NashvilleCountry superstar Martina McBride is doing something a bit different with her 12th studio album. After 22 years of releasing some of country music’s most memorable songs, McBride is taking on the classics and putting her own spin to them.

Everlasting, is a studio album comprised of covers of classic soul songs from such iconic artist as Elvis Presley, Etta James, Otis Redding, Diana Ross and the Supremes and many, many more.

McBride has released 3 of the 14 songs that are set to appear on the album. The songs include her rendition of Elvis Presley’s “Suspicious Minds,” Harold Melvin and the Blue Notes’ “If You Don’t Know Me By Now,” and Van Morrison’s “Wild Nights.”

Let me preface the next few statements by saying that I am a HUGE soul and Motown fan. While I may be young, I can’t help be fall in love with this era of music, and personally believe this was the greatest era of music to ever hit the world.

Now let me say that these songs are incredible. McBride does such an outstanding job with each song. I have always heard the soul and passion behind McBride’s huge voice, and I’m glad that she is showcasing it with classic songs that are loved by many.

“Suspicious Minds” Takes a Youthful Spin

Suspicious MindFrom her well known belts, beautifully sung high notes, and awesome delivery “Suspicious Minds” presents a great very fun listening experience for any listener.

With a great upbeat arrangement and a full energy driving her vocals, McBride surely won my heart with this one. I think one of the great things about this version of the song is that it keeps all the same elements of the original while bringing a sense of youth to it.

The backing band is a lot more crisp and feels a bit fuller to me. I like the weight it carries and McBride definitely has fun with the song vocally, and you can hear it. I think that’s one of the most important part of this song, fun. You have to have fun and great emotions.

Both of which McBride has.

“If You Don’t Know Me By Now” Leaves You Wanting More

The amount of passion and pain that goes into making this song as beautiful as it is, is indescribable. Now this is not one of those songs that you can just sing to sing. No there is a certain level of emotion you need to make it work.

If You Don't Know Me By NowI love this song and I think I was a bit skeptical at first, because I wasn’t sure how a country sing could understand the soul that truly goes into this beautiful love ballad.

Yet from the moment that the first chord played all the way til the end I was feeling it.

McBride does such a soulful and beautiful job with this song that I never wanted it to end. She brings a smooth and silky vocal delivery that when she hits those belts and runs you are filled with chills.

This song was so well done that i never wanted it to end. When it did end I was like, wait that’s it? There isn’t more? It’s so beautiful and it’s the fastest 3:30 minutes of of your life. It’s saddening really.

I always enjoy covers of this song because I like to see what people do with the arrangement and in what way they try to tailor it to their audience.

Now while nothing compares to the original (and never will) I think McBride does a fine job.

(Click Here to Watch Video)

“Wild Night” Brings you Back to the Good Old Party Days

With a fuller band sound, and a powerful voice McBride brings a high energy dance track that is sure to put you on the dance floor cranking out some dance moves from the 70’s.

Wild Night

McBride’s version of “Wild Nights” has to be one of my favorite upbeat songs to come from a country artist in a while. This is another song you can tell she had fun with. She brings a fresh and sweet vocal to an upbeat, sort of jazzy, back up band.

I love the feel of this song, I love the delivery, and the way that she has made each of these songs her own. Honestly, while you can tell the songs are a bit outdated, I firmly believe this songs could be released today by McBride and still be as big hits now as they were back in their day.

“Wild Nights” definitely reminds me of something that would be playing during a prom scene of a late 60’s early 70’s movie. With really high energy dancing and back up singers doing the swim.

It’s definitely a fun track and I would have to say, at the risk of being ridiculed, that I enjoy this version over the original.

What’s Yet to Come?

1308099161.08963.13062629823602MartinaMcBrideThe rest of the album are great songs such as “Come See About Me,” “I’ve Been Loving You too Long,” “In the Basement” and very many others.

My favorite group from the Motown era, other than The Temptations, would have to be the Supremes, so I’m very excited to see what McBride does with “Come See About Me.”

If these songs are any representation of what is yet to come I’m very excited for this album.

Another thing you can expect from McBride’s next album are duets with great artist as Gavin DeGraw and Kelly Clarkson. Can I say that imagining Kelly Clarkson and Martina McBride covering an Etta James sends chills up my spine. I’m also very excited to hear that.

The album is set for an April 8th release. For now be sure to preorder a copy on Itunes and until then, enjoy the three songs that McBride has graced the world with.

Leave a Reply

