Lea Michele’s Version of “I’m the Greatest Star” released (Listen Here!)

It’s Rachel Berry’s opening night and we are getting some huge songs this week. One of which is a song Glee has already done. Yet once you hear this version of the song you will completely forget they ever did.

Rachel Berry opens as Fanny Brice on this weeks Glee.
Rachel Berry opens as Fanny Brice on this weeks Glee.

In season 3 the kids of McKinely’s glee club got together and put together the musical West Side Story. In the audition process Kurt Hummel sang “I’m the Greatest Star” from the musical Funny Girl.

Well fast forward 2 seasons and we have Rachel Berry playing the iconic role of Fanny Brice in the Broadway revival of Funny Girl. So of course we expected some more songs from the musical. (In previous seasons they have taken on other Funny Girl songs such as; “Funny Girl,” “Don’t Rain on My Parade,” and “My Man.”)

Yet never did I think they would redo a song that had already been done, especially since there are so many more musical numbers to cover. But they proved me wrong with one of this week’s musical numbers being Rachel Berry singing “I’m the Greatest Star.”

Lea Michele as Rachel Berry on Glee.
Lea Michele as Rachel Berry on Glee.

Now at first I was a bit unsure about how I would feel about this song. The first time it was done on the show I didn’t really like it. I don’t know if it’s because it was Kurt who did it, or if it was the song itself, but this time around I fell in love.

Rachel completely blows Kurt’s version of the song out of the water. The expression, the emotions and that voice! Everything about this version of the song is perfect. I knew that Rachel would be a great Fanny Brice, but never did I expect to fall in love with the songs like I have.

I am looking forward to more Funny Girl songs after hearing this. While I am upset that Glee is not offering new musical numbers of the musical I’m holding out for a Funny Girl episode — and EP — full of songs from the musical, like they did with Rocky Horror Picture Show, West Side Story  and Grease

Okay, I won’t keep you waiting any longer take a listen to the song below and enjoy!

One thought on “Lea Michele’s Version of “I’m the Greatest Star” released (Listen Here!)

Leave a Reply

