Ariana Grande releases “My Everything” (LISTEN HERE!)

Ariana Grande finally released her much anticipated sophomore album, My Everything. While the album has its moments and shows great potential for being another hit in the songstress’ record book, some of the songs show that sometimes experimenting this early in your career isn’t always the best decision.

Ariana Grande embraces 60 style for new artwork.
Ariana Grande embraces 60 style for new artwork.

When I first heard Ariana Grande’s debut album Yours Truly, I was completely in love with every song from the moment the album started until it ended. I remember being put on a roller coaster ride of emotions, and feelings, then at the end thinking, “now that’s a great album.”

Yet I didn’t quite get that feeling after, or during, My Everything. Now I’m not saying that the album was bad, nor am I saying that I hated it. As a matter of fact I loved it. I thought that it showed great growth in her style, voice and even appeal.

But what turns me off is some of the creative decisions the singer made throughout the album. For starters I wish there wasn’t so many duets. Out of the 12 song track list, or 15 for the deluxe version, five of them are duets.

Another thing that really had me confused is that, stylistically, not all of the songs match, or have a constant theme to them. There are dance tracks mixed in with pop songs, packaged with some strong piano ballads and a random try at hip-hop.

Ariana Grande's "Break Free" video is inspired by Star Wars and Barbarella.
Ariana Grande’s “Break Free” video is inspired by Star Wars and Barbarella.

What’s wrong with this is it leads to a confusing listen and makes it seem as though there was a confusion in the artist’s direction or identity with this album.

But all in all My Everything was definitely worth the wait. Throughout the songs you see a growth and sense of maturity to the young artist. There are stronger lyrics, bolder moves with her vocals and even a greater sex appeal that I didn’t image her having.

Some of my favorite songs on the album would have to be; “Best Mistake (ft. Big Sean),” “Love Me Harder (ft. The Weeknd),” “Why Try,” and “My Everything.”

My Everything:

Yet the best moments of the album lie in three songs specifically.

Aside from her singles “Problem (Ft. Iggy Azalea)” and “Break Free (ft. Zedd)” the songs that need to be showcased are; “One Last Time,” “Break Your Heart Right Back (Ft. Childish Gambino)” and “Just A Little Bit of Your Heart.”

“One Last Time” tells the story of longing for someone one last time no matter what the circumstances are. This song is the third song on the album, and I feel that this sets the tone for the type of mature lyrics we will have for the rest of the album.

I think that this song was one of the most powerful of the songs and definitely stood out to me the most right off the bat. Placed over a nice, light, dance track Ariana Grande sings some pretty heavy lyrics like;

“One last time, I need to be the one who takes you home. One more time I promise after I’ll let you go. baby I don’t get if you got her in your heart, all I really care is you wake up in my arms. One last time, I need to be the one who takes you home.”

Yet this isn’t the only song with heavy lyrics and a beautiful message. “Just a Little Bit of Your Heart” is another beautiful ballad that features great vocals and raw emotions.

What really surprised me about this song was that it was written by One Direction member Harry Styles. Rumor has it that after hearing the song for the first time Grande cried at how powerful the song was, and I can’t blame her.

The song strips down the energy of the rest of the album and is carried by a heavy piano beat. Featuring a much softer, raw, and passionate Ariana, “Just a Little Bit of Your Heart” is moving and very emotional.

I would have to say that this song is probably one of the only songs that I can say present actual emotions and feelings. It’s like you can hear the true pleading and see the tears as she sings such lines as;

“I know I’m not your only, but at least I’m one. I’ve heard a little is better than none. Oh baby, Just a little bit of your heart, just a little bit of your heart, just a little bit of your heart is all I want.”

That part of the song alone is enough to have me tearing up. This song has passion and emotion and is very well suited to her vocals and the style of music that she is great at.

But not all her songs are sad and heavy. Grande also shows that she knows how to have a great time with her music and also brings back her 90’s R&B style to a few songs such as “Only 1” and “Break Your Heart Right Back.”

“Break Your Heart Right Back” is fun, easy to dance to, and possess all the elements to become a chart topper. Sampling Diana Ross’ “I’m Coming Out” this song has a nice R&B beat, smooth vocals and a nice little verse from Childish Gambino.

I will have to say that hands down this is one of the best rap verses on the album. He keeps the momentum all the way through and has some lyrical smoothness right as the instrumental is stripped down and only features Grande’s vocals singing the sampled song.

I can see a video for this song, but it involves heavy choreography and backwards hats. While I would say that this style is probably a little out of Grande’s range, I think she did an amazing job with the song.

She shows some excellent vocal choices and keeps my attention all the way through. This is definitely one of the only songs that I was instantly in love with.

Yet even though there are some great moments, there are also some confusing and awkward songs that probably shouldn’t have been recorded by Grande.

For example “Hands on Me (Ft. ASAP Ferg)” I just feel that this song was out of her range and comfort zone. Now while I’m all for experimenting and trying new styles, this song was so out of her comfort zone that it was kind of uncomfortable to listen to.

But the song does have a catchy hook, and a great twerkability to it. So you can’t argue that this song won’t do good. Yet it was just one of those confusing moments of the album where I thought to myself, ummm You could have done without it.

Yet after having all night and morning to listen to these songs on repeat and get to know the lyrics a little more I would have to say that this is another victory for Arianators. The songs are catchy and moving. The vocals are incredible and you can tell that Grande is really trying to get to a new audience.

I really can’t wait for more videos and even a tour!!! Until then be sure to get your copy of My Everything on itunes now! And I’ll leave you with another one of my favorite songs “Love Me Harder.”

Leave a Reply

